top of page

SPREADING SUNFLOWERS

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAleah Platt

Oh, The Toxic Places You'll Go!


 


It's time to do some cleaning!

I know what you're thinking.... but I'm not referring to cleaning my room. It's time to make some life changes, get rid of a few things. . . a few people.

Today I finished a book by Reyna Biddy, "the girl who writes poems about loving too hard- and not being loved hard enough". Fantastic read, that had some real powerful messages. I won't spoil it for anyone but I will say, "We accept the love we THINK we deserve", but you don't deserve to stay in environments with anyone that doesn't love or value you.

I don't know why too many people stay in toxic places, with toxic people. I don't know why I've made the decision to do just that far too often. The greatest artists have made brilliant things inspired by the pain someone they loved caused them. Movies have been made about the venomous connections people find themselves in. How could we forget about that one friend, a beautiful soul, paired with a neglectful bad boy/girl. I don't know why we're addicted to going back to poisonous situations. Maybe we do so in hopes for better days... better days with the people that make our heart smile, the people that seem worth the heartache.

However, staying in toxic places too long has long lasting effects emotionally and mentally. Explains why that guy couldn't love you the way you needed him too, or why that friend couldn't be the friend you deserve, or even why you move on and damage others as a result of holding that pain. We love people that simply can't go outside of the toxic places your path requires you to travel. Out of that same love for them we accept and silence the pain, we go back even when our mind tells us otherwise, we damage ourselves trying to save others. I have been there, you have been there... far too many of us have been there.


At the end of this year don't find yourself in the same situations. Don't find yourself silenced, hurting and neglected. When faced with the decision to protect your heart, peace, and energy... choose you. Leave the toxic place, leave that toxic person, drop that toxic friend... and forgive yourself for staying there too long.


 









"Dear self,

I'm sorry for the people I let come around and pick your petals.. just to throw them away,

I'm sorry for the abuse I allowed.

I'll do better this year.

I Promise."

-Aleah Platt



 




41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page